A Comprehensive Guide To The Microsoft Azure Certification Pathway In 2022

With billions of dollars invested in the cloud market over the last few years, companies like IBM Cloud, AWS, Salesforce, Google Cloud Platform, Oracle, Alibaba Cloud, and Azure have built a name for themselves.

Cloud computing provider Microsoft Azure is rapidly gaining market share. As of April 2021, according to Canalys, the worldwide cloud market was worth $41.8 billion, a 35% increase over the previous three months. Azure has 19% of the market, AWS has 32%, and Google has 7% of the market, with the remaining 42% being shared by the other companies.

Multiple Microsoft Azure certification paths are discussed in length in this article, along with advice on preparing for each and which certifications are best for which career paths.

Why Azure Certifications?

To demonstrate your ability to work with Azure, you need to pass a certification exam. The demand for Azure certified workers who are prepared to work at a decent wage is widespread throughout the world’s business community. Make sure you choose the certification that best suits your level of expertise and background, and check the azure certification cost, which is quite affordable.

Azure Certification Levels

What do the various levels of Microsoft Azure certification mean? Microsoft certificates have four levels: fundamentals, associate, expert, and specialty.

Is there any significance to this for you in obtaining your cloud certification? Not excessively. You don’t require to finish each level before moving on to the next, except for a couple.

  1. Fundamentals Certification – The Azure Fundamentals Certifications are geared toward students who are just getting their feet wet with cloud computing concepts. Those with non-technical backgrounds can also utilize these qualifications to begin their cloud adventure.
  2. Associate Certification – This certification is ideal for those who already have a working knowledge of Azure and want to add it to their résumé.
  3. Expert Certification – If you have previous experience, a complete understanding, and associate-level knowledge of Azure, you can obtain an expert certification.
  4. Specialty Certification – Azure for SAP Workloads and Azure IOT Developer Speciality are two examples of specialization certifications currently available.

Azure Certification Path 2022

Azure certifications list for Fundamental-level Certifications

  1. Microsoft Azure Fundamentals: AZ-900

This is the most straightforward certification to obtain for those who are new to the Azure platform. A fundamental understanding of Azure cloud services is the goal of this certification.

  1. Microsoft AI Fundamentals: AI-900

Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning are covered in depth in Azure’s AI Fundamentals course (ML). In addition, anyone with a technical or non-technical background can enrol in the AI 900 azure learning path, which requires no prior knowledge of a programming language.

  1. Microsoft Azure Data Fundamentals: DP-900

A cloud professional who wishes to work with data should take the Microsoft Azure Data Fundamentals DP-900 certification.

  1. Microsoft Security Fundamentals: SC-900

Those who are engrossed in learning about the principles of SCI across cloud-based and related Microsoft services can consider taking the azure security certification (SC-900)—designed for a wide range of people, including business leaders, IT novices, and professionals who want to learn more about Microsoft SCI Solutions.

Azure Certifications List for Associate-level Certifications

  1. Microsoft Azure Administrator Associate: AZ-104

Azure administrators install and manage storage, computing, identities, governance, and virtual networks in the Azure cloud environment.

  1. AZ-204: Microsoft Azure Developer Associate

Design, development, testing, and management of cloud applications and services fall under the purview of the Azure Developer role.

  1. Azure Database Administrator Associate: DP-300

The Azure Database Administrator uses Microsoft SQL Server and Microsoft Azure Data Services to implement and maintain platform solutions.

  1. Microsoft Azure Security Engineer Associate: AZ-500

In the cloud, an Azure Security Engineer is responsible for ensuring data security, apps, and networks by applying security rules and preventing threats.

  1. Microsoft Azure Data Scientist Associate: DP-100

These data scientists are in charge of Azure’s machine learning workloads and data science in general.

  1. Microsoft Azure Data Engineer Associate: DP-203

The data engineer’s job is to build, develop, optimize, and monitor data platforms to meet the needs of the data pipeline.

  1. Azure AI Engineer Associate: AI-102

It is the most effective design and implementation of a Microsoft Azure artificial intelligence solution.

  1. Azure Stack Hub Operator Associate: AZ-600

“Azure Stack Hub Operator” refers to an Azure administrator or hybrid cloud professional who works with the hub. They use Azure Stack Hub to provide cloud services to customers and end-users from their own data centre.

  1. Microsoft Data Analyst Associate: DA-100

It is the data analyst’s job to discover valuable information from a significant volume of raw data.

  1. Microsoft Azure Networking Associate: AZ-700

Experts in this field oversee the solution’s performance, reliability, scalability, and safety.

  1. Administering Windows Server Hybrid Core Infrastructure: AZ-800

Expertise in this field of identity management and computer networking and hybrid solutions is a must for these individuals as well.

  1. Configuring Windows Server Hybrid Advanced Services: AZ-801

You should only apply if you’ve passed the Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate exam and are proficient in configuring and administering on-premises, hybrid, and IaaS workloads under the Microsoft Windows Server platform.

Azure Certification Path for Expert-level Certifications

  1. Microsoft DevOps Engineer Expert: AZ-400

Experts in DevOps who strive to improve the quality of business outcomes by integrating people, processes, and technology will be eligible for this credential.

  1. Azure Solutions Architect Expert: AZ-305

A new azure architect certification exam for Solutions Architects is AZ-305 Designing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions (beta).

Azure Certification Path for Specialty-level Certifications

  1. 1. Azure IoT Developer Specialty: AZ-220

The Azure IoT Developer’s responsibility is to build and manage an IoT solution’s cloud and edge components, including the code and implementation.

  1. Azure for SAP Workloads Specialty: AZ-120

It teaches IT professionals who have previously worked with SAP solutions to use cloud resources such as Azure Active Directory (which includes the implementation and management of hybrid identities).

  1. Configuring and Operating Microsoft Azure Virtual Desktop: AZ-140

This position is responsible for delivering virtual desktops and applications to Azure.

  1. Azure Cosmos DB Developer Speciality: DP-420

Candidates must be familiar with Azure Cosmos DB database technology and have a solid background in application development for Azure.

Conclusion: Final Thoughts!

Microsoft certificates are one of the most sought-after cloud computing credentials by IT professionals because of the widespread use of Microsoft products and services worldwide.

In this article, we’ve looked at the various Microsoft Azure certification path that is available and what it takes to pass them, such as the exam guide, length of time required to complete the Exam, passing score, number of questions for each certification, and prerequisites for each certification exam.